North Macedonia, officially the Republic of North Macedonia is a country located on the Balkan peninsula and in Southeastern Europe. North Macedonia borders Serbia to the north, Albania to the west, Greece to the south, and Bulgaria to the east.

The capital and largest city is Skopje, with more than 500,000 residents. It has many smaller cities. Some important ones are Bitola, Prilep, Tetovo, Kumanovo, Ohrid, Veles, Stip, and Strumica. North Macedonia is often called a land of lakes and mountains.

There are more than 50 large lakes and sixteen mountains higher than 2000 meters above sea level.

Leave a Reply